Manchester United / 15 Nov 2015

Michael Owen Scores Twice In UNICEF Match For Children

Michael Owen celebrates with Paul Scholes after scoring in the UNICEF Match For Children

Michael Owen proved to the 75,000+ crowd at Old Trafford that he could still be depended on to score goals, by scoring 2 in the UNICEF Match for Children yesterday afternoon. Owen took part in the David Beckham 7 UNICEF charity match alongside other A list footballing legends at the home of Manchester United which also saw former United legend, Paul Scholes on the scoresheet. Paul Scholes headed home the first goal in the 13th minute of the match.

Owen came on in the 2nd half as a replacement for Stoke City striker, Peter Crouch in the 56th minute and it wasn’t too long before he was on the scoresheet for the Great Britain & Ireland team. Owen’s first of the match came in the 63rd minute which saw his first attempt blocked by Van Der Gouw, but following a pass from Scholes, placed the ball into the back of the net.

Another fellow ex-Red, Dwight Yorke pulled one back for the Rest of The World XI in the 65th minute, but Michael Owen found the back of the net again in the 85th minute following a cross from Ashley Cole in the box which tied up the match with a 3-1 win.

A surprise substitution was made in the 75th minute was David Beckham was replaced with eldest son, Brooklyn. Beckham Snr returned to the pitch in the 82nd minute when he was brought back on to replace Sol Campbell.

The charity match was a complete stadium sell-out with 75,381 fans attending the match.

GB & Ireland squad:

David Beckham (captain), David Seaman, David James, Jamie Carragher, Sol Campbell, Phil Neville, John Terry, Ashley Cole, Darren Fletcher, Nicky Butt, Trevor Sinclair, Paul Scholes, Gary McAllister, Ryan Giggs, Michael Owen, Peter Crouch, Alan Smith.

World squad:

Edwin van der Sar, Raimond van der Gouw, Cafu, Fernando Hierro, Fernando Couto, Mikael Silvestre, Luis Figo, Robert Pires, Christian Karembeu, Ji-sung Park, Clarence Seedorf, Michael Ballack, Ronaldinho, Dwight Yorke, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, Patrick Kluivert, Landon Donovan.